Skip to content
Gloucestershire Counts — Gloucestershire, in numbers.Local help →

Cheltenham, in numbers

Projects: Cheltenham

Cheltenham local authority area. Every figure carries its own date.

The local plans, investments and decisions worth following.

3 selected records checked against official sources. A plan is not a completed project; each record shows the stage its source establishes.

Former North Place car park, Cheltenham

Arkle Court homes

The development combines houses and apartments with a discounted First Homes offer.

Construction reported in February 2026 · source does not state a status date

Responsible body: Cheltenham Borough Council

What the source says: The council-hosted developer update reports roofs and groundworks progressing; its August occupation date is a forecast, not verified occupation.

Next thing to establish: What dated decision or progress report confirms the current stage?

Progress, funding and source
Cost
£50 million development value reported by the developer
Funding
Not established by the evidence checked.
Area covered
Named project location only. No verified current ward impact footprint; no ward-wide effect is inferred.

No verified ward footprint is assigned.

Arkle Court construction update →

Source checked 2026-10-17. A plan or announcement is not proof of completion.

Questions for the next progress report

  • Which funding is committed, and what remains conditional?
  • Which neighbourhoods are covered by an official project plan, and which benefits still need testing?
  • What is the next published milestone, and what evidence will show residents benefit?

Reuse sites near existing services →

Match housing offers to different needs →

Keep home-opening forecasts separate from delivery →

Make room for homes people can afford →

Connect local skills to local opportunities →

Target support where disadvantages overlap →

How to track delivery →

Shelley Road and Shakespeare Road, Cheltenham

Former Monkscroft School homes

The approved scheme provides social-rent and shared-ownership homes alongside accessible green space.

Planning permission granted · evidence dated 2026-02-19

Responsible body: Cheltenham Borough Council

What the source says: The planning committee approved 70 homes on 19 February 2026. The notice does not establish completion.

Next thing to establish: What is the approved cost, including ongoing maintenance?

Progress, funding and source
Cost
Not established by the evidence checked.
Funding
Not established by the evidence checked.
Area covered
Named project location only. No verified current ward impact footprint; no ward-wide effect is inferred.

No verified ward footprint is assigned.

Monkscroft planning approval →

Source checked 2026-10-17. A plan or announcement is not proof of completion.

Questions for the next progress report

  • Which funding is committed, and what remains conditional?
  • Which neighbourhoods are covered by an official project plan, and which benefits still need testing?
  • What is the next published milestone, and what evidence will show residents benefit?

Match housing offers to different needs →

Make room for homes people can afford →

Target support where disadvantages overlap →

How to track delivery →

Elmfield Park, Cheltenham

Elmfield Park paths

New park paths are among the neighbourhood projects supported through contributions from development.

2025 funding support reported · source does not state a status date

Responsible body: Cheltenham Borough Council

What the source says: The September 2026 funding notice lists this as a 2025 supported project; it does not certify completion of every path.

Next thing to establish: What dated decision or progress report confirms the current stage?

Progress, funding and source
Cost
Not established by the evidence checked.
Funding
Not established by the evidence checked.
Area covered
Named project location only. No verified current ward impact footprint; no ward-wide effect is inferred.

No verified ward footprint is assigned.

Neighbourhood infrastructure funding and supported projects →

Source checked 2026-10-17. A plan or announcement is not proof of completion.

Questions for the next progress report

  • What is the approved cost, including ongoing maintenance?
  • Which funding is committed, and what remains conditional?
  • Which neighbourhoods are covered by an official project plan, and which benefits still need testing?
  • What is the next published milestone, and what evidence will show residents benefit?

Improve everyday park access →

Target support where disadvantages overlap →

How to track delivery →