Skip to content
Gloucestershire Counts — Gloucestershire, in numbers.Local help →

Cotswold, in numbers

People and living standards: Cotswold

Cotswold local authority area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Cotswold local authority area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 74,826 in 1991 to 91,563 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Cotswold council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 79,463 people in 1996; 91,563 people in 2025. 15.2% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Cotswold council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199174,826
199275,696
199378,408
199479,642
199579,846
199679,463
199779,829
199880,064
199980,626
200080,829
200180,387
200280,475
200381,212
200481,795
200582,205
200682,597
200783,202
200883,016
200982,765
201082,614
201183,180
201283,483
201383,986
201484,656
201585,293
201685,994
201787,540
201888,814
201989,632
202089,824
202191,076
202291,403
202391,686
202491,728
202591,563
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Cotswold council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 14,886 people in 1996; 14,144 people in 2025. 5% lower between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Cotswold council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199113,830
199214,070
199314,691
199414,969
199515,076
199614,886
199715,019
199815,150
199915,247
200015,142
200114,943
200214,860
200314,841
200414,860
200514,703
200614,563
200714,550
200814,313
200914,025
201013,813
201113,787
201213,801
201313,768
201413,854
201513,764
201613,837
201714,111
201814,367
201914,536
202014,437
202114,481
202214,611
202314,582
202414,352
202514,144
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Cotswold council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 48,966 people in 1996; 51,510 people in 2025. 5.2% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Cotswold council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199146,142
199246,570
199348,370
199449,181
199549,181
199648,966
199749,195
199849,172
199949,421
200049,680
200149,380
200249,591
200350,141
200450,491
200550,895
200651,316
200751,608
200851,280
200950,882
201050,555
201150,690
201250,178
201350,200
201450,296
201550,580
201650,769
201751,524
201851,878
201952,085
202052,068
202152,784
202252,477
202352,331
202452,056
202551,510
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Cotswold council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 15,611 people in 1996; 25,909 people in 2025. 66% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Cotswold council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199114,854
199215,056
199315,347
199415,492
199515,589
199615,611
199715,615
199815,742
199915,958
200016,007
200116,064
200216,024
200316,230
200416,444
200516,607
200616,718
200717,044
200817,423
200917,858
201018,246
201118,703
201219,504
201320,018
201420,506
201520,949
201621,388
201721,905
201822,569
201923,011
202023,319
202123,811
202224,315
202324,773
202425,320
202525,909
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 90,830 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Cotswold · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh1,1951.3%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African4020.4%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups1,3931.5%
White87,51096.3%
Other ethnic group3300.4%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 82,881 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Cotswold · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White81,07597.8%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups6980.8%
Asian/Asian British7941%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British2290.3%
Other ethnic group850.1%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 80,376 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Cotswold · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White79,41298.8%
Mixed3840.5%
Asian/Asian British1930.2%
Black/Black British820.1%
Chinese/Other3050.4%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 48.1% above the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Cotswold council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £16,300 per person in 1997; £38,447 per person in 2024. 135.9% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Cotswold council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
199716,300
199816,511
199917,105
200018,133
200118,572
200218,421
200318,555
200419,503
200520,778
200621,723
200722,772
200823,579
200923,249
201024,117
201124,001
201224,525
201325,914
201427,135
201528,746
201628,711
201728,536
201829,605
201930,930
202029,504
202130,981
202233,510
202336,367
202438,447
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Cotswold council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: 53.6% in 1997; 48.1% in 2024. 5.5 percentage points lower.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Cotswold council area: full reviewed history
Period%
199753.6
199852.5
199951.2
200052.3
200150.1
200245.6
200342.3
200443.7
200547.8
200648.3
200748.4
200849.7
200945.2
201049.3
201147.3
201245.2
201348
201450.1
201551.1
201649.1
201744.8
201845.1
201946.8
202040.6
202141.8
202245.9
202348.7
202448.1
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults in work

57.8%

21 March 2021 · Cotswold local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

21 March 2021, residents aged 16 and over. Includes full-time students in the corresponding work/unemployment categories. Not a current labour-market estimate or the usual 16–64 employment rate. Census took place during the coronavirus pandemic; furlough and lockdown affected answers. Ward counts sum complete official output-area best-fit membership; privacy adjustment can make totals differ slightly.

Source →

Households facing several disadvantages

11.2%

21 March 2021 · Cotswold local authority area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

13.7%

21 March 2021 · Cotswold local authority area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

3.8%

21 March 2021 · Cotswold local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£421,000

July 2026 · Cotswold local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Average monthly private rent

£1,252

August 2026 · Cotswold local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Official local housing data feed. House prices are provisional, not seasonally adjusted; rents use the Price Index of Private Rents. Local short-term estimates are variable. Country references use only the explicitly country-coded ctry object, never the local place object.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.