Skip to content
Gloucestershire Counts — Gloucestershire, in numbers.Local help →

Stroud, in numbers

People and living standards: Stroud

Stroud local authority area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Stroud local authority area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 104,101 in 1991 to 126,418 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Stroud council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 106,811 people in 1996; 126,418 people in 2025. 18.4% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Stroud council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991104,101
1992104,892
1993104,774
1994105,437
1995106,325
1996106,811
1997107,228
1998107,473
1999107,691
2000107,867
2001108,060
2002108,229
2003108,840
2004109,477
2005110,122
2006110,509
2007111,069
2008111,375
2009111,853
2010112,491
2011113,074
2012113,328
2013113,895
2014115,211
2015116,770
2016117,213
2017117,613
2018118,172
2019118,832
2020119,511
2021121,493
2022123,185
2023124,399
2024125,507
2025126,418
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Stroud council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 21,472 people in 1996; 21,295 people in 2025. 0.8% lower between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Stroud council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199120,888
199221,112
199321,181
199421,352
199521,494
199621,472
199721,389
199821,448
199921,475
200021,514
200121,685
200221,591
200321,725
200421,627
200521,458
200621,172
200720,973
200820,820
200920,774
201020,588
201120,516
201220,408
201320,469
201420,595
201520,796
201620,812
201720,742
201820,809
201920,782
202020,681
202120,840
202221,254
202321,266
202421,302
202521,295
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Stroud council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 66,622 people in 1996; 74,355 people in 2025. 11.6% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Stroud council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199165,240
199265,585
199365,221
199465,654
199566,176
199666,622
199767,060
199867,163
199967,298
200067,349
200167,332
200267,420
200367,759
200468,228
200568,853
200669,441
200769,907
200869,858
200969,963
201070,245
201170,358
201269,740
201369,498
201469,941
201570,566
201670,376
201770,374
201870,407
201970,565
202070,963
202172,234
202273,007
202373,669
202474,075
202574,355
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Stroud council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 18,717 people in 1996; 30,768 people in 2025. 64.4% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Stroud council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199117,973
199218,195
199318,372
199418,431
199518,655
199618,717
199718,779
199818,862
199918,918
200019,004
200119,043
200219,218
200319,356
200419,622
200519,811
200619,896
200720,189
200820,697
200921,116
201021,658
201122,200
201223,180
201323,928
201424,675
201525,408
201626,025
201726,497
201826,956
201927,485
202027,867
202128,419
202228,924
202329,464
202430,130
202530,768
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 121,104 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Stroud · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh1,2561%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African5280.4%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups2,1711.8%
White116,70196.4%
Other ethnic group4480.4%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 112,779 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Stroud · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White110,42697.9%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups1,2161.1%
Asian/Asian British7510.7%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British2600.2%
Other ethnic group1260.1%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 107,898 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Stroud · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White106,46398.7%
Mixed5850.5%
Asian/Asian British3240.3%
Black/Black British1720.2%
Chinese/Other3540.3%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 8.9% above the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Stroud council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £11,930 per person in 1997; £28,288 per person in 2024. 137.1% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Stroud council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
199711,930
199812,085
199912,563
200013,253
200113,774
200213,785
200313,940
200414,691
200515,672
200616,429
200717,115
200817,659
200917,567
201017,884
201118,030
201218,497
201319,390
201420,338
201521,189
201621,309
201721,626
201822,635
201923,371
202022,908
202123,990
202225,103
202326,743
202428,288
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Stroud council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: 12.4% in 1997; 8.9% in 2024. 3.5 percentage points lower.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Stroud council area: full reviewed history
Period%
199712.4
199811.6
199911.1
200011.3
200111.3
20029
20036.9
20048.2
200511.5
200612.2
200711.5
200812.1
20099.7
201010.7
201110.7
20129.5
201310.7
201412.5
201511.4
201610.7
20179.8
201810.9
201910.9
20209.1
20219.8
20229.3
20239.4
20248.9
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults in work

59.8%

21 March 2021 · Stroud local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

21 March 2021, residents aged 16 and over. Includes full-time students in the corresponding work/unemployment categories. Not a current labour-market estimate or the usual 16–64 employment rate. Census took place during the coronavirus pandemic; furlough and lockdown affected answers. Ward counts sum complete official output-area best-fit membership; privacy adjustment can make totals differ slightly.

Source →

Households facing several disadvantages

12.6%

21 March 2021 · Stroud local authority area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

13.5%

21 March 2021 · Stroud local authority area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

4.2%

21 March 2021 · Stroud local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£352,000

July 2026 · Stroud local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Average monthly private rent

£1,041

August 2026 · Stroud local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Official local housing data feed. House prices are provisional, not seasonally adjusted; rents use the Price Index of Private Rents. Local short-term estimates are variable. Country references use only the explicitly country-coded ctry object, never the local place object.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.