Skip to content
Gloucestershire Counts — Gloucestershire, in numbers.Local help →

Gloucestershire, in numbers

People and living standards

Gloucestershire County Council area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Gloucestershire County Council area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 535,982 in 1991 to 671,908 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Gloucestershire council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 550,748 people in 1996; 671,908 people in 2025. 22% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Gloucestershire council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991535,982
1992538,409
1993541,314
1994543,701
1995547,073
1996550,748
1997557,285
1998555,718
1999561,021
2000564,582
2001564,999
2002566,445
2003569,281
2004572,641
2005576,908
2006580,702
2007585,415
2008587,610
2009590,480
2010594,097
2011598,289
2012601,301
2013605,213
2014611,331
2015617,671
2016624,076
2017629,712
2018634,653
2019638,676
2020640,572
2021646,485
2022652,645
2023661,406
2024668,109
2025671,908
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Gloucestershire council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 109,400 people in 1996; 115,441 people in 2025. 5.5% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Gloucestershire council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991105,331
1992106,515
1993107,524
1994108,731
1995109,502
1996109,400
1997109,906
1998110,283
1999111,170
2000111,538
2001111,313
2002110,534
2003110,284
2004109,653
2005108,718
2006107,577
2007107,275
2008107,081
2009107,003
2010106,683
2011106,805
2012107,235
2013107,641
2014108,743
2015109,483
2016110,998
2017111,880
2018112,814
2019113,140
2020112,580
2021112,593
2022114,210
2023115,233
2024115,967
2025115,441
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Gloucestershire council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 346,080 people in 1996; 404,728 people in 2025. 16.9% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Gloucestershire council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991338,930
1992339,200
1993340,194
1994340,930
1995342,755
1996346,080
1997351,749
1998349,239
1999352,892
2000355,571
2001355,476
2002357,054
2003359,443
2004362,441
2005366,757
2006371,068
2007374,878
2008375,072
2009375,708
2010377,488
2011379,078
2012377,118
2013377,348
2014378,975
2015381,537
2016383,775
2017386,151
2018387,548
2019388,804
2020389,802
2021393,099
2022395,182
2023400,493
2024403,473
2025404,728
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Gloucestershire council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 95,268 people in 1996; 151,739 people in 2025. 59.3% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Gloucestershire council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199191,721
199292,694
199393,596
199494,040
199594,816
199695,268
199795,630
199896,196
199996,959
200097,473
200198,210
200298,857
200399,554
2004100,547
2005101,433
2006102,057
2007103,262
2008105,457
2009107,769
2010109,926
2011112,406
2012116,948
2013120,224
2014123,613
2015126,651
2016129,303
2017131,681
2018134,291
2019136,732
2020138,190
2021140,793
2022143,253
2023145,680
2024148,669
2025151,739
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 645,079 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Gloucestershire · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh18,4642.9%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African7,7771.2%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups14,1492.2%
White600,31493.1%
Other ethnic group4,3750.7%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 596,984 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Gloucestershire · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White569,64795.4%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups8,6611.5%
Asian/Asian British12,4332.1%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British5,1500.9%
Other ethnic group1,0930.2%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 564,559 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Gloucestershire · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White548,48297.2%
Mixed4,8350.9%
Asian/Asian British5,5231%
Black/Black British3,3050.6%
Chinese/Other2,4140.4%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 5.4% above the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Gloucestershire council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £11,527.32 per person in 1997; £27,365.62 per person in 2024. 137.4% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Calculated for the county from the complete exact published district-code set: sum Table1 income totals and Table2 resident populations, then divide total pounds by population. This is a UK Facts calculation, not a directly published ONS county figure. It does not average district rates. All years use the same published district rows, not reconstructed historical councils. Source totals are rounded to £million, so derived per-person amounts have additional rounding uncertainty.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Gloucestershire council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
199711,527.32
199811,685.78
199912,135.02
200012,671.32
200113,194.71
200213,189.28
200313,367.74
200414,038.46
200514,948.66
200615,667.24
200716,174.85
200816,686.24
200916,771.1
201017,103.27
201117,239.16
201217,714.92
201318,525.71
201419,449.37
201520,216.26
201620,313.23
201720,476.03
201821,164.32
201921,931.31
202021,808.63
202122,671.83
202224,048.23
202325,834.03
202427,365.62
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Gloucestershire council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: 8.65% in 1997; 5.39% in 2024. 3.25 percentage points lower.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Calculated for the county from the complete exact published district-code set: sum Table1 income totals and Table2 resident populations, then divide total pounds by population. This is a UK Facts calculation, not a directly published ONS county figure. It does not average district rates. All years use the same published district rows, not reconstructed historical councils. Source totals are rounded to £million, so derived per-person amounts have additional rounding uncertainty. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Gloucestershire council area: full reviewed history
Period%
19978.65
19987.93
19997.28
20006.45
20016.66
20024.25
20032.55
20043.44
20056.34
20066.99
20075.41
20085.95
20094.74
20105.9
20115.8
20124.88
20135.77
20147.56
20156.27
20165.48
20173.93
20183.7
20194.08
20203.9
20213.79
20224.72
20235.66
20245.39
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults in work

59.2%

21 March 2021 · Gloucestershire County Council area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

21 March 2021, residents aged 16 and over. Includes full-time students in the corresponding work/unemployment categories. Not a current labour-market estimate or the usual 16–64 employment rate. Census took place during the coronavirus pandemic; furlough and lockdown affected answers. Ward counts sum complete official output-area best-fit membership; privacy adjustment can make totals differ slightly.

Source →

Households facing several disadvantages

14%

21 March 2021 · Gloucestershire County Council area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

15.2%

21 March 2021 · Gloucestershire County Council area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

4.4%

21 March 2021 · Gloucestershire County Council area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£317,000

July 2026 · Gloucestershire County Council area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.