Skip to content
Gloucestershire Counts — Gloucestershire, in numbers.Local help →

Tewkesbury, in numbers

People and living standards: Tewkesbury

Tewkesbury local authority area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Tewkesbury local authority area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 70,721 in 1991 to 103,753 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Tewkesbury council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 73,980 people in 1996; 103,753 people in 2025. 40.2% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Tewkesbury council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199170,721
199271,148
199371,884
199471,997
199572,783
199673,980
199777,193
199874,505
199975,290
200076,399
200176,524
200277,248
200377,673
200477,932
200578,275
200678,930
200779,404
200879,755
200980,553
201081,535
201182,269
201282,568
201383,549
201484,826
201585,548
201687,065
201788,801
201890,614
201992,703
202093,747
202195,400
202296,949
202399,404
2024101,708
2025103,753
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Tewkesbury council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 14,739 people in 1996; 19,452 people in 2025. 32% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Tewkesbury council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199113,917
199214,207
199314,284
199414,495
199514,667
199614,739
199714,673
199814,715
199914,681
200014,795
200114,806
200214,969
200314,872
200414,820
200514,639
200614,553
200714,347
200814,231
200914,400
201014,542
201114,630
201214,660
201314,902
201415,197
201515,428
201615,782
201716,200
201816,734
201917,285
202017,357
202117,527
202217,944
202318,578
202419,148
202519,452
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Tewkesbury council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 46,409 people in 1996; 61,411 people in 2025. 32.3% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Tewkesbury council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199144,993
199244,814
199345,275
199445,026
199545,487
199646,409
199749,565
199846,695
199947,386
200048,192
200148,105
200248,428
200348,723
200448,815
200549,129
200649,597
200750,000
200850,015
200950,277
201050,688
201150,971
201250,472
201350,657
201451,148
201551,266
201651,926
201752,907
201853,742
201954,851
202055,566
202156,570
202257,329
202358,790
202460,120
202561,411
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Tewkesbury council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 12,832 people in 1996; 22,890 people in 2025. 78.4% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Tewkesbury council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199111,811
199212,127
199312,325
199412,476
199512,629
199612,832
199712,955
199813,095
199913,223
200013,412
200113,613
200213,851
200314,078
200414,297
200514,507
200614,780
200715,057
200815,509
200915,876
201016,305
201116,668
201217,436
201317,990
201418,481
201518,854
201619,357
201719,694
201820,138
201920,567
202020,824
202121,303
202221,676
202322,036
202422,440
202522,890
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 94,882 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Tewkesbury · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh1,9242%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African5950.6%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups1,6991.8%
White90,20695.1%
Other ethnic group4580.5%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 81,943 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Tewkesbury · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White79,90197.5%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups7760.9%
Asian/Asian British9011.1%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British2550.3%
Other ethnic group1100.1%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 76,405 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Tewkesbury · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White75,33798.6%
Mixed4570.6%
Asian/Asian British3470.5%
Black/Black British960.1%
Chinese/Other1680.2%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 5.4% above the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Tewkesbury council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £11,516 per person in 1997; £27,365 per person in 2024. 137.6% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Tewkesbury council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
199711,516
199812,065
199912,477
200012,944
200113,481
200213,381
200313,497
200414,225
200515,196
200615,955
200716,589
200817,104
200917,136
201017,340
201117,486
201218,033
201318,822
201419,691
201520,534
201620,536
201720,501
201820,846
201921,101
202021,377
202121,875
202223,509
202325,759
202427,365
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Tewkesbury council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: 8.5% in 1997; 5.4% in 2024. 3.1 percentage points lower.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Tewkesbury council area: full reviewed history
Period%
19978.5
199811.4
199910.3
20008.7
20019
20025.8
20033.5
20044.8
20058.1
20068.9
20078.1
20088.6
20097
20107.4
20117.3
20126.8
20137.5
20148.9
20157.9
20166.6
20174.1
20182.1
20190.1
20201.8
20210.1
20222.4
20235.3
20245.4
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults in work

60.1%

21 March 2021 · Tewkesbury local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

21 March 2021, residents aged 16 and over. Includes full-time students in the corresponding work/unemployment categories. Not a current labour-market estimate or the usual 16–64 employment rate. Census took place during the coronavirus pandemic; furlough and lockdown affected answers. Ward counts sum complete official output-area best-fit membership; privacy adjustment can make totals differ slightly.

Source →

Households facing several disadvantages

12.5%

21 March 2021 · Tewkesbury local authority area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

13.9%

21 March 2021 · Tewkesbury local authority area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

3.9%

21 March 2021 · Tewkesbury local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£326,000

July 2026 · Tewkesbury local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Average monthly private rent

£1,093

August 2026 · Tewkesbury local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Official local housing data feed. House prices are provisional, not seasonally adjusted; rents use the Price Index of Private Rents. Local short-term estimates are variable. Country references use only the explicitly country-coded ctry object, never the local place object.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.